Make Money- My Etsy Shop

I am always trying to find ways to make a little extra cash to help out my debt situation without getting involved in some kind of crazy scheme.  Thirty One Gifts has helped me to do that by giving me great products and earning a little bit of money here and there.  I am not a consultant who has several parties a month and has made it their full time income.  I wish!  But it has definitely helped and I LOVE their products.

We have tried a few different things to help out here and there and one of them has been selling items on Ebay.  As we are cleaning out our apartment getting ready to move, we have decided to simplify our lives and sell things we don’t use anymore.  This has helped a LOT!  I will definitely do a post on it soon.

My newest endeavor is selling on Etsy.  I have been sewing a lot lately.  It started with making Christmas gifts for the kids.  I made M a hooded shark towel that he loves!  His old hooded towel was getting short and he always complained his but was cold when he got out of the shower!

Sorry it was tough to get pictures.  M said "I'm a shark I need something to bite!"

Sorry it was tough to get pictures. M said “I’m a shark I need something to bite!”

IMG_4673-1

I had so much fun making the gifts I decided to try out a few other simple projects.  I have a friend who just had a baby and figured a nice gift would be a set of burp cloths for the baby.

Before M was covering my clothes with food and paint he was spitting up all over them.

IMG_4633

This is the set I made for my friend. I am also selling them in my shop.

IMG_4629

I really enjoyed picking out the fabric and knowing I had made something that would help someone else out and also looked beautiful. I was happy to come home and make bibs and burp cloths instead of sitting in front of the TV for an hour before bed, it was a great creative outlet and stress reliever, but it also wasn’t cheap.  I decided to put the extras I had made on Etsy to see if they sell and can fund my new sewing habit while contributing to my debt repayment.

If you haven’t been on Etsy before, it is full of amazing artisans and antique dealers.  Most of the items are handmade and many of them are customizable.  They range from very inexpensive to high end and you can find so many beautiful things from jewelry, clothes, knick knacks, shoes, artwork, etc.

I have bought many gifts on Etsy because the prices are good and I love being able to buy from small businesses where the money goes right to real people.

If you are interested in selling on Etsy, let me know in the comments and I’ll do a post on the details and how to get your shop set up.  Its pretty easy and only takes a few minutes to get set up.

Leave a Reply

