Book Review- Slam! by Nick Hornby

SLAM_podcast

I loved this book!  Slam! made me remember how I and many others thought as teenagers.  I loved that it was a little weird, Sam, the main character has conversations with a poster of Tony Hawk and some other bizarre stuff.

I was totally shocked when I saw how terrible the reviews on GoodReads were.  People said it was just a compilation of every teen cliche and that Hornby’s other works were far better.  I have never read anything else by him so I cannot comment on the latter.  I felt that Sam was very true to life and not like most cliches of teenagers.  He was very honest, sometimes not the brightest and he often had insights about life that were somewhat naieve and wonderful.  The overall message I took out of the book was to do the best you can and not hold yourself accountable to what others think your life should be.  Maybe that is just what I wanted to see, but I think everyone would be a little happier if they followed such advice.

I give this book 5/5 maybe I am naieve as well, or maybe I don’t know good literature (I have never professed to,) but I really enjoyed this book and I feel that it is worth a read.

Next Book: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka JK Rowling)

Leave a Reply

